1010 NW Printaward

Annual Narrow Web Print Awards hosted by Flint Group at Labelexpo Americas – September 16, 2010

Flint Group will host the 6th Annual Narrow Web Print Awards celebrating the excellence and entrepreneurship in the wider world of narrow web printing. Label converters from all over the world are encouraged to submit sample labels of their choosing for evaluation by a panel of industry judges. Criteria for judging includes: registration, smoothness of dot/vignette, overall print quality, and degree of difficulty. Entries will be placed in categories relating to technology and application.

In addition to the annual Narrow Web Print Award, as established since years, Flint Group announces in 2010 a special award, the Flint Group “FORCE AWARD”. This special award is dedicated to companies whose entries are printed using the new, ground breaking, UV Flexo technology – Flexocure FORCE. As Mr. Niklas Olsson, Brand Manager Flint Group Packaging & Narrow, explains, “We want to reward entrepreneurs using Flexocure FORCE in narrow web by introducing this special category. Flexocure FORCE is truly a universal product with unique features that pushes the boundaries in UV Flexo printing and we want to celebrate the creativity and printability this technology provides. The printers’ job is simple – unleash the FORCE on their press and submit the printed samples.” The winner in this special category will be the company that can exemplify the true benefits of Flexocure FORCE by using the most creative use of ink.

Flint Group Narrow Web has been presenting the prestigious Print Award for many years; it has become a well known competition in the industry. In 2009 Flint Group presented awards in ten different categories at Labelexpo Brussels. Commenting on the awards, Mr. Niklas Olsson said: “We were, again, astonished by the excellence in quality of print and design of all entries. This proves that the Narrow Web Print Awards is held in serious and respected regard by our customers around the world. We are extremely proud, as an ink supplier, to host these awards each year, and receive such a great response from our customers.”

Some examples of winners in 2009 included:
  • Collotype in Australia in the category of UV Offset
  • Skanem in Poland in the category of Combination Print (UV Flexo and UV Screen White)
  • Aleithe Spb in Russia in the category of UV Flexo and UV Cold Foil on film material
  • Labelcrafters in the U.S. in the category of Water-based Flexo
  • Neoprint in Russia in the category of Coupon Label
The 2010 award winners will be announced at the Narrow Web Print Award Ceremony at the Flint Group booth at Labelexo Americas on Thursday, September 16, 2010 – Stand #840.

Entry Guidelines are as follows:

1. Each entry must be printed using inks from Flint Group Narrow Web
2. Entries can be a commercial label, or a promotional label
3. Entries can be sent in roll or sheet form
4. Entries should be received no later than August 1, 2010
5. Entries can be submitted through your local sales representative. Alternatively, contact Niklas Olsson in Europe at niklas.olsson@flintgrp.com, or Deanna Whelan in the United States at deanna.whelan@flintgrp.com

1 March 2010